What are you reading?

Discussion in 'Non-WOT - Literature and Fiction' started by Taika Vinh, Jan 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cynayne Nilonne

    Cynayne Nilonne

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    I think they are all good. As Cherryh develops the stories she never loses track of the basics of her world building, so the sequel books retain the integrity and feel of the original novel. She's such a great author.
     
  2. Cynayne Nilonne

    Cynayne Nilonne

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    When Gravity Fails is a wonderful piece of cyber fiction, and I'm surprised more people aren't familiar with it. More than one time I have wished I could "chip in a moddy" for some task or other.
     
  3. Jeryn Lekar

    Jeryn Lekar testing bunny Gaidin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,673
    Location:
    Sweden
  4. Kassina Tendar

    Kassina Tendar Aes Sedai

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    10,631
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Just finished A Closed and Common Orbit. It's the 2nd book in Becky Chambers' Wayfarers trilogy. (the third book's coming out next year) These two books were sooo good. I devoured both of them. And Closed and Common Orbit had me crying so much near the end. :cry :cry In a good way, but... wow. That was an emotional book.
     
  5. Tallan Daar

    Tallan Daar Aes Sedai Director of Research and Records Historian Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,730
    Location:
    Sweden
    I just started that one last night! I wasn't a huge fan of the first book, but I heard this one is a bit tighter and more focused, plus it's nominated for the Hugo Award and I'm trying to get through most of not all of those. I'm crossing my fingers that I'll feel more like you do about it. :)
     
  6. Kassina Tendar

    Kassina Tendar Aes Sedai

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    10,631
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Well, I also adored the first book, so YMMV. :lol

    Comparatively, the 2nd book is less cheery and more focused on character-development stories. The first book seemed more like a bunch of episodic bits that all related to crew life aboard the Wayfarer. This novel is also not very plot-focused, but it does have a clear focus on character development with two intertwining stories that both focus on different characters. I would say it's quite different in focus and structure than the first book, so you may like it even if you didn't like the first one. :)
     
  7. Tallan Daar

    Tallan Daar Aes Sedai Director of Research and Records Historian Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,730
    Location:
    Sweden
    I thought TLWtaSAP was cute, but I was totally frustrated by the lack of plot, of things happening. It got better in the end, but it was too little, too late. Character development is great, I just also want (preferably interesting) things to happen to those characters, and that there are things they have to do in response. :p

    Apart from that big, glaring flaw :lol I quite liked it, though, so maybe this one'll do the trick for me. ;)
     
  8. Kassina Tendar

    Kassina Tendar Aes Sedai

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    10,631
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Makes sense! This one is also very light on plot, though, just to warn you. :p
     
  9. Tallan Daar

    Tallan Daar Aes Sedai Director of Research and Records Historian Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,730
    Location:
    Sweden
    Forewarned is forearmed, so thanks for that! :) Seriously, knowing that going in - or guessing it based on the first book - keeps my expectations where they should be, which will lead to a much more pleasant reading experience. :lol
     
  10. Dareth d'Rahien

    Dareth d'Rahien Soldier

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I adored both of the Wayfarers books, in slightly different ways. TLWtaSAP was all of my favorite things about ensemble-driven SF shows like TNG and Firefly, and it was just so pleasant to have emotional character arcs that led to positive growth and bonding. ACaCO definitely has more of a plot, and while I went into it unsure about leaving my favorite characters behind, it didn't take long for me to be strongly invested in Sidra and Pepper.

    (I did a whole series of blog posts on the Hugo nominees; here's my post on ACaCO if you're interested. Mild spoilers, of course, since it's hard to talk about themes and such without them, but I don't spoil any big reveals in either book.)

    After finishing up my Hugo reading I read C.B. Wright's Pay Me, Bug! which is comedic science fiction in the vein of Schlock Mercenary or Asprin's Phule series. A captain and his crew of smugglers get hired to steal something, on somewhat dubious pretenses. I enjoyed it more than the latter, and if it didn't quite reach the level of Schlock in my opinion, it's because that's an incredibly high bar.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2017
  11. Almira ni'Caldazare

    Almira ni'Caldazare Citizen

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    OFallon, MO
    I need to start reading this series!
     
  12. Tallan Daar

    Tallan Daar Aes Sedai Director of Research and Records Historian Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,730
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well, I finished it, and while I did like it more than its predecessor it's becoming clear to me that I'm not the right audience for these books. I react more like this fellow over at Goodreads (though I liked it a little bit more than he did). I think I'd like to live in the world of these books more than I want to read the stories Chambers chooses to write in and about it. I'm not a lover of grimdark, but I want what's lies between this and that. Thanks for the link to your review, though, Dareth! I read around a bit, and can add that I liked All the Birds in the Sky (much) less than you did, The Obelisk Gate more (I'd place it higher on my ballot if I had one, anyway), and agree that Ninefox Gambit should win Best Novel. ^^ Here's hoping!

    (Also the Vorkosigan Saga for Best Series. Yes.)
     
  13. Dareth d'Rahien

    Dareth d'Rahien Soldier

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I liked The Obelisk Gate quite a bit! I just don't think the series needs a second Hugo. If The Fifth Season hadn't already won one, it'd probably be right after Ninefox Gambit on my ballot.

    (I need to reread the Vorkosigan books again one of these years. Maybe when the next one comes out, if there is a next one... Gentleman Jole felt like such a perfect wrap-up to the series that I honestly don't know if there will be.)
     
  14. Kallarn Lo'Vosh

    Kallarn Lo'Vosh

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Finished all the Dark Tower series, then read Salems lot, It, Star Wars Guardians of the Whills, Seven stones to Stand or fall (outlander short stories), now just finished Marine Biology (Gail Carriger novella) and now onto Sumage solutions (also Carriger).
     
  15. Erin al'Denael

    Erin al'Denael Ban Hammer, Scourge of Spambots Everywhere Aes Sedai Mistress of Novices & Recruits

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    9,102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Last week I read Wildfire by Ilona Andrews. It was amazing! ^^ I love everything those two write.

    Yesterday I devoured Beard in Mind by Penny Reid. Blurb is as follows:
    Penny Reid is great at creating characters I either immediately or grow to love. They're never boring, regular types. She tends to create weirdos. But that's more realistic, right? All depends on perspective.
     
  16. Tallan Daar

    Tallan Daar Aes Sedai Director of Research and Records Historian Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,730
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ah, gotcha, and I can totally understand that.

    I don't think there's ever a time when I don't feel like rereading Vorkosigan. :lol I'm approaching my anniversary of reading them for the first time, and that usually triggers a reread, so we'll see. I don't hold out a lot of hope of getting more, and that feels okay - it's a good end point, as you said.


    Currently working my way through Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer. It's slow going but enjoyable so far (I'm a third through). The worldbuilding's really really interesting. Also reading Monstress vol 2 on the side. I really liked the first album. Good story, gorgeous art.
     
  17. Ilverin Matriam

    Ilverin Matriam Aes Sedai Outreach Activities Coordinator Historian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,426
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Neuromancer by William Gibson. My hubby loves it and wanted me to read it for a long while now.... it is super hard for me to read, I am only through like 4 or 5 chapters :\ It is just written super weird :cheese
     
  18. Kallarn Lo'Vosh

    Kallarn Lo'Vosh

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Stick with it, the first one is the oddest as it dumps you in a world and treats you like you know everything they are talking about. The next two books do this less (or you get more used to the world) and I found much easier and more enjoyable.
     
  19. Aduiavas Ida

    Aduiavas Ida Aes Sedai Mistress of Revels - Europe Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    15,510
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    I read A Handmaidens tale, by Atwood. It really got me thinking about how society works, and gender roles, and Christianity. I am a personal Christian, but I would never accept a lifestyle like that, even though a society like that is described in the Bible...
     
  20. Syera Faelron

    Syera Faelron Aes Sedai

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11,108
    Location:
    UK
    I want to read that Ida, sounds really good and there is a show on tv too.
    Currently reading Bernard Cornwell books and going to start on Outlander.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.